RSS

Words With Friends

07 Jun

I am totally obsessed with this game. My husband somehow started it first, probably by seeing someone post it on Facebook. Then he got me to join and it’s pretty much been all down hill from there.

If you’ve never played, it’s basically a version of Scrabble where you can play opponents online, but as a leisurely pace. So you have to wait for them to make a move before your next turn. Sometimes this can take a matter of minutes, other times a matter of days. It’s smart to keep a few games going at once if you’re constantly playing otherwise you’ll find yourself impatiently waiting for the screen to refresh. The great thing about this game that differs from the original board game is that you don’t have to challenge your opponent on words you don’t think are valid nor do you need to have a scrabble regulation dictionary nearby. The game will tell you when a move is acceptable. Which may be seen as an easy way out since you can keep trying tiles until you make a word. Although this has helped me learn what words are acceptable to play. Like all other apps, this one is more than usually distracting and I find myself playing it at every spare moment, sometimes when I shouldn’t.

There are also cheater apps that can find combinations of words that yield the highest score. Which my husband tried out on me with telling me. And it just so happened to be one of my highest scoring games and it was making me mad that he was beating me by 200 points! Eventually we’ll both bore of the game, but until then I will have to find some creative words that have “z” or “q.”

 

XO,

Anonymous Girl…..the real one.

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Words With Friends

  1. stevebetz

    August 17, 2011 at 2:46 PM

    I like this game too — and it’s amazing how much time can go by when I think “oh hey, I’ll just have a cup of coffee and play my wwf turns…”

    Sometimes after I have a hard time with a rack of letters, I’ll write down the 7, play my turn and then go look at one of those sites to see what I SHOULD have seen. It got too depressing though… :)

     
  2. walkingpapers

    August 21, 2011 at 11:43 AM

    Hi Anonymous Girl. Thanks for comment on my Iceland post. I checked out your blog and laughed to see Word With Friends come up. My hubby loves it too–every once in a while his phone will beep and I’m like, what the hell? It’s either his mom or his best friend saying, your move! How in the world do you find the time to post every day? I’m happy if I can post once a week!
    Best,
    Suzanne

     
    • realanonymousgirl2011

      August 21, 2011 at 11:57 AM

      Thanks for stopping by! That’s so funny, my husband recently discovered Chess With Friends as well and now he’s always playing!

       
  3. sportsattitudes

    September 14, 2011 at 6:38 AM

    I know the feeling. I have friends who have become “lost” in this game. As for my wife and I…we have some very “Angry Birds” to deal with on a daily basis. Love your blog!

     
  4. Edward Grey

    October 4, 2011 at 4:42 PM

    I’ve always been pretty good with scrabble, and often score above 350 per game. Once though, I picked a random opponent who was somewhere in the 600′s, almost double what I had. He was using almost every single tile each play, which meant one of two things: he was either cheating or Bobby Fischer of Words with Friends. I’d like to think it was the latter and that I was given the chance to play one of the worlds greatest Words players, but the cynic in me wants to argue for the former. :)

    Take care now!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

